IAFL: The International Association of Forensic Linguists

IAFL Officers, the Executive Committee and Regional Representatives

IAFL Officers

The Association has five Officers, each of whom is elected for a term of 2 years. The current Officers are:

box President: Ron Butters (Duke University, US)

box Vice-President: M. Teresa Turell (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)

box Treasurer: Tim Grant (Aston University, England)

box Secretary: Krzysztof Kredens (Aston University, England)

box Publicity Officer: Chris Heffer (Cardiff University, Wales)

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for the routine day-to-day operations of the Association, as well as selecting the venue for the Biennial Conference and arranging meetings of the membership. The Executive Committee is composed of the five IAFL Officers above plus two ‘Ordinary Members’, who are elected for a term of 4 years. The current ordinary members are:

Justice Peter Gray (Federal Court of Australia)

Azirah Hashim (University of Malaya)

The immediate past president of the Association (currently Janet Cotterill) sits as a non-voting member of the Committee.

Past presidents of the Association include:

Janet Cotterill (2007-2009)

Peter Tiersma (2005-2007)

John Gibbons (2003-2005)

Lawrence Solan (1999-2003)

Diana Eades (1995-1999)

Malcolm Coulthard (1993-1995)

Details of how the Executive Committee functions and the role of the Association's Officers can be found in the Constitution.

Regional Representatives

The Association also appoints a number of Regional Representatives who deal primarily with membership matters. Currently, ‘regional’ representatives are organised according to the currency they handle for membership fees rather than by geographical region. Prospective members should contact the relevant regional representative according to the currency in which they wish to pay their membership fees.

Isabell Picornell (Pounds Sterling)
Phil Gaines (US Dollars)
Diana Eades (Australian Dollars)
Maria Teresa Turell (Euros)
Mami Hiraike Okawara (Japanese Yen)

© IAFL 2007